CCTV Help

forcebwithu

One of my old D-Link IP security cameras has bit the dust and I expect the others are nearing the end of their useful life.

I bought the Tapo C210 camera to try out as a replacement, but can not get either the D-ViewCam app that I use for the D-Link cameras, or the iSpy open source security camera app to recognize the C210.

I know the camera and its settings are fine as I was able to view what the camera is seeing using the VLC player and the RTSP protocol. When I plug the identical URL into iSpy I get nothing.

I'm a rank novice when it comes to CCTV's and setting up these apps. With D-ViewCam it was somewhat plug 'n play since the app and cameras were from the same company.

From what I read I could buy an NVR to handle the video feeds, but I already have enough computers in my small home office, I don't really want another one if I can avoid it. Thus my looking into a software solution that can run on my existing Windows laptops.

Any suggestions, pointers and help would be most welcome. If it does happen the best and easiest solution is the NVR route, recommendations on brand and model would be also welcome. My current security system is five cameras, so the solution doesn't need to accommodate more than say eight channels.

Here's the tp-link instructions if you haven't already seen them.

https://www.tp-link.com/en/support/faq/2680/

Windows firewall issue? Turn off and see if that works. Remember to turn it back on afterwards.

Is camera and PC on the same subnet? Does it need to be?

I only buy cameras that either come with their own application and/or can be viewed with a web browser. And they must come with the ability to save images and recordings to a local FTP server. Unfortunately getting harder and harder to find.

9 minutes ago, fygjam said:

Here's the tp-link instructions if you haven't already seen them.

https://www.tp-link.com/en/support/faq/2680/