Painting & Decorating my house exterior - Have we got any BM's with experience in this trade ?

Pumpuynarak

Now i'm shortly gonna need my house exterior painted, its the Thai traditional rendered walls. I'm no painter/Dec and never do myself so i have no experience. When painting should a primer/undercoat be first applied then 1 or 2 coats of top coat ? I previously have had done by way of a recco from friends but i'm not convinced the correct process is followed as i'm seeing signs of wear ie not enough paint being applied.

Many thanks guys for any help.

P1000670.JPG

I am no painter, so I am just guessing, all paint jobs starts with a cleaning of the surface. A normal high pressure water hose should be enough for this. Don't sand blast the facade as that would just remove the render. After cleaning, inspect the facade and fill any cracks and holes with a bit of plaster (or cement or pollyfilla or maybe even toothpaste). Then add primer and finally paint. How many layers you need, I don't know.

EDIT: But don't take my words for it - as I said, I am just guessing.

Edited by Lirchenfeld
  • Thanks 1

22 minutes ago, Lirchenfeld said:

I am no painter, so I am just guessing, all paint jobs starts with a cleaning of the surface. A normal high pressure water hose should be enough for this. Don't sand blast the facade as that would just remove the render. After cleaning, inspect the facade and fill any cracks and holes with a bit of plaster (or cement or pollyfilla or maybe even toothpaste). Then add primer and finally paint. How many layers you need, I don't know.

EDIT: But don't take my words for it - as I said, I am just guessing.

Thanks Lirch, i'm finding it sooooooooooo difficult to get any tradesman in Thailand that you can trust to do a professional job. I like to employ tradesmen that i can just let them get on with the work with confidence that they know what they are doing and will do it properly.